• Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
  • About Heather

    NOH8

    31 * mommy to 3 * wife * avid volunteer * crafter * swapper * office manager/wedding assistant

  • RSS

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

  • Proud Member

    Letter Writers Alliance

    Etsy

    Where Moms Who Blog Go!

    The Lady Bloggers Society

  • Blogs I Love

    Photobucket

    Photobucket

    Photobucket

Learning to love

I watched “Nights In Rodanthe” just now. I haven’t seen that movie, but I’ve read the book more times than I know.

For me, it’s a powerful lesson for any age. Learning to love again after any type of loss is so difficult. I’ve lost many people in my life, and each time I had to learn how to love again, how to let others in, how to be ok with letting go.

In the book, it’s the relationship with the another person that teaches the main characters how to love and, most importantly, how to heal.

For me, it was each child that helped me love again. My grandfather (almost father) passed away in November 2000. In June 2001, I found out I was pregnant and in February 02 my first son was born. I learned that it was ok to love again. I was so scared to open myself up. I was so afraid I’d lose Michael. But he’s become one of my best friends 🙂

When Kaylee was born November 08, she healed my heart a bit more. And she also healed Ryan. He’d lost his grandfather that September. Kaylee came at a time when he needed healing.

Robert was born in January ’10, after a 7 month separation between me and Ryan. That little guy healed both of us and our relationship. He helped us realize that things were ok. We were ok. We could be together, and we could save our marriage.

Sometimes, your heart can be healed by people you least expect. You just have to keep yourself open.

2 Responses

  1. happy for you all, heather… love on!

  2. Thank you my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

