• Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
  • About Heather

    NOH8

    31 * mommy to 3 * wife * avid volunteer * crafter * swapper * office manager/wedding assistant

  • RSS

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

  • Proud Member

    Letter Writers Alliance

    Etsy

    Where Moms Who Blog Go!

    The Lady Bloggers Society

  • Blogs I Love

    Photobucket

    Photobucket

    Photobucket

My #charity photography dilemma

So here’s my dilemma.

I’d really love to get a photo/headshot done for my charity promotional material. Nothing too fancy, even just a nice, cute photo in a park.

I work for a wedding officiant. Most of you know that 🙂 So thankfully I have lots of contacts. However, I don’t have lots of inexpensive contacts. Pretty much every contact I have charges $500+. One local photographer is doing a special, but for me to be able to use the picture online & such it would cost an additional $250 per image.

So that’s the dilemma. For those of you involved in charity work, who do use headshots or photos on your websites. Did you pay out of pocket the $300-1000 fee to have a nice shot? Did you have a friend just take a cute photo? Did someone donate a headshot to you?

I have no qualms about paying a small fee, but anything over $100 just seems so much. I’m the only one working, so even $100 is a huge extravaaence. But I know I need a good shot. ARGH! What to do…

I do have one contact whom I know from the Long Beach Armada, Lana from Caught In The Moment Photography. She very generously offered me a complimentary headshot. So I’m making an appointment with her for this weekend, hopefully.

Thoughts? Comments? I need guidance, my friends.

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by BasketCase2, Heather Crow Nelson. Heather Crow Nelson said: My #charity photography dilemma: http://wp.me/pQpCo-dr […]

Leave a Reply

